Barbara Kruger's Untitled (It), 2018 a work commissioned by LAXART

About Us

Founded in 2005, LAXART is a platform for emerging and under-recognized talent, its mission has expanded to encompass thematic exhibitions that engage with key issues of our time. We are open Tuesday through Saturday from 11:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. and admission is free.

LAXART is accessible via street level and has an additional ramp entrance. We welcome service animals. You may call or email us with any accessibility questions or needs.

For more information, please call 323.871.4140 or email info@laxart.org

We are not accepting artist submissions at this time.


LAXART is a nonprofit visual art space that promotes developments in contemporary culture through exhibitions, publications, and public programs.

We believe that contemporary art is a means of understanding key issues of our time with all their inherent contradictions. Contemporary art assumes many forms. Rather than provide answers, it raises questions. Through a range of offerings, we contextualize contemporary art both socially and art historically. Our programs are free and designed to be accessible to the general public.

Thank You

LAXART is grateful for the support it receives from artists, individuals, foundations, government agencies, and other organizations.

LAXART’s 2017 and 2018 programs would not be possible without the generous donations from the following artists: Kelly Akashi, Alex Becerra, Andrea Bowers, Kwame Braithwaite, Hughette Caland, Rafa Esparza, Kim Fisher, Theater Gates, Michelle Grabner, Todd Gray, Edgar Heap of Birds, Arturo Herrera, Thomas Hirschhorn, Karl Holmqvist, Jacqueline Humphries, Anne-Mie van Kerckhoven, Arthur Jafa, Joan Jonas, Liz Larner, Tony Lewis, Glenn Ligon, Dashiell Manley, Rebecca Morris, Silke Otto-Knapp, Anthony Pearson, Raymond Petition, Lari Pittman, Pope L., Christina Quarles, Peter Saul, Frances Stark, Ricky Swallow and Leslie Vance, Martine Syms, Henry Taylor, Christine Wang, Mary Weatherford, Lawrence Weiner, Jonas Wood, and Molly Zuckerman-Hartung.

LAXART's programs are produced with generous support from The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts; the Offield Foundation; Charlie Pohlad; the Jerry and Terri Kohl Family Foundation; Margaret Morgan and Wesley Phoa; The Mike Kelley Foundation; The National Endowment for the Arts; the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors through the Los Angeles County Arts Commission; The Philip and Muriel Berman Foundation; Artis Contemporary Israeli Art Fund; City of Los Angeles, Department of Cultural Affairs; The Hartfield Foundation; The Danielson Foundation; Bridgitt & Bruce Evans; The Marciano Foundation; Middle Road Foundation; Brenda Potter; City of West Hollywood Economic Development Department/Arts Division, Arts and Cultural Affairs Commission; the Pasadena Art Alliance; Graham Foundation; the French American Cultural Exchange; CEC Artslink; and an anonymous donor.


Program & Curatorial Assistant:
Makayla Bailey

Director of Development:
Laura Creed

Chief Preparator:
Chris Oliveria

Deputy Director & Curator:
Catherine Taft

Executive Director:
Hamza Walker

Design Services

Board of Directors

Hamza Walker, Director
Charlie Pohlad, Chair
Jennifer Arceneaux, Co-Vice Chair
Michael Price, Co-Vice Chair
Andrea Bowers
Shana Eddy-Grouf
John Frane
John Geresi
Heather Karatz
Karyn Kohl
Phil Lord
Dashiell Manley
Rodney McMillian
Margaret Morgan
Kelsey Lee Offield
Mary Weatherford
Ric Whitney

Trustee Emeritus:
Lauri Firstenberg, Founder
Daniel Joseph Martinez